Random Fact: iCloud is Serious Business

It sucks having an appleID with one name that’s tied to a debit or credit card with a different name.

Why is this, you ask? Because if you ever decide to tie that account to an iCloud.com email address, the recipients of your messages will be terribly confused as they’ll be seeing someone else’s name for the owner of that email address. More specifically, the owner of the card you used to tie to your AppleID. That’s just the nature of how Apple’s account system works. Of course, you can always change the name back after you make your purchase, but that goes against Apple’s “It Just Works” philosophy; well, I guess “It Just Works,” but not the way it was intended to.

Anyway, to rectify this problem, I decided to create another AppleID that I wouldn’t use to make purchases through Apple’s services. Since Apple requires one to tie an AppleID to a device that supports iCloud services (iPod Touch, iPad, iPhone, OSX 10.7+) before you can use this site, I decided to pull out one of my Virtual Machines that had an OSX installation of Mavericks to do it since I didn’t want to waste additional hard drive space just creating another user on my actual operating system.

Apparently, Apple didn’t like that. At first everything seemed to work as it should’ve, but twelve hours later, I tried logging into iCloud.com and it spat out the following message:

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 11.02.04 PM

Odd. I go back to my Virtual Machine where I set up my iCloud Services, and I get some more detail as to what happened:

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 11.01.05 PM

So I decided to call Apple about the issue. The representative told me that this was an unusual case and after he heard my story, and said he was going to put me on hold for around five minutes to see if he can do anything on his end to resolve the problem. Amusingly enough, it took longer than five minutes to get everything sorted out:

photo

After he got back to me, I was told he was still working on his end to see if there was anything he can do to solve the problem. After a few more futile attempts, he then handed me off to another representative that was more familiar with the iOS side of iCloud services (who also told me my case was an outlier) and said to me that AppleIDs that are wiped through this method need to have a very good reason to be undone because it’s going to take several days of talking with the guys in charge of iCloud services to get that account back up and running. What was really funny about this entire conversation I was having between these two representatives was that neither were too sure as to why Apple’s system blacklisted my newly created account from their iCloud services. I already knew at this point why it happened:

I was using a Virtual Machine and didn’t expect Apple to be deadly serious about making sure iCloud services would only be registered on actual Apple hardware. Virtual Machines of OSX send out the wrong information to the iCloud servers, which then makes the servers think that you’re trying to register the account on non-Apple approved hardware. Of course, I didn’t explain it that way to the representative I was talking to, but I thanked them for their time nonetheless and promptly hung up.

Then I proceeded to create another AppleID and activate iCloud services on it using another account on the OSX installation found on my MacBook Pro. And this time it worked.

– Carl Dayagdag

Leave a Reply

